This event has passed and sales are now closed.
Hot Potato Band

Hot Potato Band

10:00pm, Fri 1 February, 2019
Pay for this event with

Event Details

Over the past 4 years, Hot Potato Band has seen an unprecedented evolution. Beginning their journey as roving street performers, the 10 piece band from Sydney, Australia have been twice around the the literal and figurative block. Like a muscle they have exercised their musicianship and showmanship which is the likely reason they leave lasting impressions on festivals and audiences.

Anything could happen! Known to cause a severe case of happy fever, this energetic 10 piece brass band has been putting smiles on the faces of audiences since 2009. The bands incredibly unique live show has evolved and expanded from their early years as street performers to their now large scale shows and festival appearances. Hot Potato Band released their first original song 'This Is How It Should Be' in 2014, and quickly became one of the most celebrated festival bands in Australia with the song being an anthem to Woodford Folk Festival, Queenscliff Music Festival, Caloundra Music Festival, New Zealand's Coastella Festival as well as many more. Hailing from Sydney, Australia, the band have been nationally touring since 2015 with their first international tour to New Zealand in 2018. Hot Potato Band have put an Australian edge to its 'multi-genre' music, influenced by ska, blues, funk, pop, reggae, afro-cuban and folk, bound by the classic brass band sounds of New Orleans. The band is aiming to re ignite acoustic instrumentation in a heavily electronic dominated industry, along with a combination of movement and interaction, the bands energy is infectious and attracts an audience of all ages.

The bands unique sound comes from the absence of a drum kit, guitar and electrified instruments. Three drummers create synchronised grooves on a deconstructed drum set. The bass lines are covered by an enormous, lung busting Sousaphone. The baritone saxophone mimics the part of a rhythm guitar as well as joining the bands huge array of horns, layering catchy chorus lines and providing a beautiful harmonic cloud for Ben (the vocalist) to float above.

Members of the band include: Simon Ghali (Drums), James Swanson (Drums), Marc Malliate (Drums), Daniel Moore (Sousaphone), Peter Orenstein (Baritone Sax), James Mackay (Tenor Sax), Edward Tan (Alto Sax), Nicholas Calligeros (Trumpet), Paul Murchison (Trumpet), Max Mallen-Cooper (Trombone), Ben Goldstein (Vocals).

The bands latest album is 'Paint The Town'. It was recorded in Sydney at DASH Productions, along with an accompanying music video for their single 'Sail Away', filmed in Cronulla by Epik Films. Previously, the band released a 5 track EP including three original tunes and two covers of popular Australian artists.