Trophy Eyes just released the year’s most emotionally cutting single

Written by Bianca Davino on 30th May, 2018
Trophy Eyes just released the year’s most emotionally cutting single

When Trophy Eyes released Chemical Miracle in 2016, it was clear the band had set a new standard for emo and alt-rock, not only within Australia but the entire world. Marrying their hardcore roots with luscious, warm chord progressions, soaring hooks and heart-wrenching lyricism, the band transcended what it meant to simply be a “band in the scene.”

Now, after touring extensively, heading on a lengthy stint to take the album globally, the band have returned with a new single ‘You Can Count On Me’, and have announced the release of their upcoming third album The American Dream. 

‘You Can Count On Me’ is undeniably the year’s most emotionally cutting single thus far. Launching immediately into its anthemic refrain, its a call to arms amongst those who seek catharsis in music, and the strong ties it brings. It’s balance between chaos in distorted madness and twinkly clean guitars conjure up a blistering storm of melancholy, ending in a massive celebration of abandon – this is modern alt-rock at its absolute finest.

The American Dream is set for a release on August 3rd, which frontman John Floreani describes as being “about my life in present time and a reflection on who I was and how I got here.”

“As much of the other Trophy Eyes works have been the hate, violence, addiction and heartbreak I fought so desperately to leave behind, this record is about shedding one’s past, transitioning from boy to man, making a home and wanting nothing more in life than to sit and enjoy the silence.”

Check out the video for ‘You Can Count On Me’ here:

Trophy Eyes – The American Dream

1. Autumn

2. Something Bigger Than This

3. Friday Forever

4. More Like You

5. Cotton Candy Sky

6. You Can Count On Me

7. Broken

8. Tip Toe

9. Lavender Bay

10. Miming In The Choir

11. A Symphony Of Crickets

12. I Can Feel It Calling

The article was originally published on Don't Bore Us