The Smashing Pumpkins Have A New Lineup, Again

Written by Nastassia Baroni on 15th June, 2015

The Smashing Pumpkins Have A New Lineup, Again

The ever evolving Smashing Pumpkins lineup has reportedly gone through another change, after a temporary run, including a Soundwave appearance, with Rage Against the Machine drummer Brad Wilk and Killers bassist Mark Stoermer.

According to Blabbermouth, Wilk and Stoermer will be replaced by Robin Diaz — who has collaborated with Chris Cornell and Courtney Love — on drums, and Australian musician Katie Cole on bass.

Cole is an Australian singer-songwriter, originally from Melbourne, who opened for Billy Corgan last year. She will also be the opening act on the Pumpkins’ upcoming acoustic tour, so will pull double duties on these upcoming shows shows.

Cole will become the fourth woman to take up the Pumpkins’ bassist role, which has been filled previously by D’Arcy Wretzky, Melissa Auf Der Maur and Nicole Fiorentino.

It’s not currently known how long this iteration of the lineup will last, but earlier this year Corgan remarked that “the future of The Smashing Pumpkins is kind of murky” and he had “only committed to the idea of The Smashing Pumpkins through, pretty much, the end of this year”.

Beyond that, he said, “I’m gonna see how it goes.”

First though, the Pumpkins still have to unveil the highly secretive follow-up release to 2014’s Monuments To An Elegy. “It’s all written, and as soon as I get back from this tour, in April, I’m going to go and record it,” Corgan told Music Feeds earlier this year.

Image: Smashing Pumpkins At Soundwave Festival In Melbourne, 21.02.15 / Photo: Alesha Martyn


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address