Slipknot’s New Album ‘.5: The Gray Chapter’ Released This October

Written by Greg Moskovitch on 26th August, 2014

Slipknot’s New Album ‘.5: The Gray Chapter’ Released This October

The details of Slipknot‘s highly anticipated fifth full-length studio album have been unveiled. According to the record’s official iTunes page, Slipknot’s fifth album is titled .5: The Gray Chapter and is slated for release Friday, 17th October. See the cover artwork and full tracklist below.

The album is the band’s first since 2008's All Hope Is Gone and the first since the death of founding bassist Paul Gray, to whom the title presumably refers. The album will also mark the full-length debut of the band with their mysterious new drummer, following the departure of Joey Jordison.

The band unveiled the album’s first official single, The Devil In I, earlier this morning, which follows the release of the long-teased The Negative One. Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor described the latter as a “gift” for fans to mark the band’s return after six years. Stream The Devil In I below.

Back in February, Taylor described the new album as “a cross between Iowa and Volume 3,” referring to two of the band’s most acclaimed albums. “But that’s honestly just scratching the surface,” added Taylor. “I think the fans are going to be very, very excited when they hear this stuff.”

Taylor had previously told BBC Radio that the band were aiming for an October release with their new album, hoping to have the record out in time for their Knotfest shows, which kick off that month. Taylor also confirmed that percussionist Shawn Crahan designed the album’s artwork.

Taylor told the BBC earlier this month that the album is still in the final stages of mixing and that the band’s energy is currently focused on the music video for The Devil In I. “We’re gonna shoot a video for that. [And] that’s about all I know right now. [Laughs] ‘Cause we’re still finishing mixes,” he said.

The band were recently announced as one of the three headliners set for Soundwave 2015, along with Faith No More and Soundgarden. The band will headline what’s been dubbed ‘Day Two‘ of the weekend-long festival. Promoter AJ Maddah has confirmed that they will not play sideshows.

Listen: Slipknot – The Devil In I


.5: The Gray Chapter Tracklist

01. XIX
02. Sarcastrophe
03. Aov
04. The Devil In I
05. Killpop
06. Skeptic
07. Lech
08. Goodbye
09. Nomadic
10. The One That Kills The Least
11. Custer
12. Be Prepared For Hell
13. The Negative One
14. If Rain Is What You Want
15. Override (Bonus Track)
16. The Burden (Bonus Track)


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address