Listen: Wavves Share New Tune ‘Demon To Lean On’, Reveal Album Details

Written by Mike Hohnen on 30th January, 2013

Listen: Wavves Share New Tune ‘Demon To Lean On’, Reveal Album Details

After slowly drip feeding us with updates on their heavily anticipated fourth album, Afraid Of Heights, Wavves have now unloaded a stack of deets on the release, not to mention a brand-new track for you to sink your teeth into while you wait for 26th March.

You can now treat your ears to the sonic glory of Demon To Lean On (below), which follows Sail To The Sun, the first sample fans got from the release. We can now see for ourselves if the band stuck with their plans to release a hip hop-inspired follow-up to King of the Beach.

On top of that, we also know the full track listing for the album, and that Afraid Of Heights is available for pre-order now, in digital, CD and vinyl formats. The deluxe pre-order package will also hook you up with a stack of other goodies as well.

Half of the duo, Nathan Williams, has explained that the main vibe of the record revolves around “depression and anxiety, being death-obsessed and paranoid of impending doom”.

I feel like the narration is almost schizophrenic if you listen front to back; every word is important, even the constant contradictions and lack of self-worth. That’s all a part of this record-questioning everything not because I’m curious, but because I’m paranoid.

As reported, Williams fronted the cash for the album, paying for the whole thing out of his own pocket. Set to add to the overbearing anticipation of the release is that it features a bevy of guest artists.

Check out the tracklist and album art as well as the new track below:

Wavves – Afraid of Heights

01 Sail to the Sun
02 Demon to Lean On
03 Mystic
04 Lunge Forward
05 Dog
06 Afraid of Heights
07 Paranoid
08 Cop
09 Beat Me Up
10 Everything Is My Fault
11 That’s On Me
12 Gimme a Knife
13 I Can’t Dream
14 Hippies Is Punks (iTunes Bonus)


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address