Hear Lana Del Rey’s Very Lana Del Rey New Single ‘High By The Beach’

Written by Sam Murphy on 10th August, 2015

Hear Lana Del Rey’s Very Lana Del Rey New Single ‘High By The Beach’

High By The Beach, the second single off Lana Del Rey‘s third LP Honeymoon has leaked ahead of it’s official release and it’s as badass as you’d expect any LDR track to be.

While first track Honeymoon was a lush orchestral affair, this track sees LDR go back to the pop stylings of her debut Born To Die, trilling “all I wanna do is get high by the beach” over a woozy, hard-hitting beat.

It’s a million miles away from the Dan Auerbach-produced, rock aesthetic of Ultraviolence and is also probably the most radio-ready thing she’s dropped to date. It doesn’t matter what style she’s dabbling in, however, she always finds a way to make it unmistakably LDR.

On High By The Beach, she sings “the truth is I never bought into your bulls**t” and “you could be a bad motherf**ker but that don’t make you a man,” turning the sass to 11.

The track is set to officially debut on Apple Music at 9.30 am Pacific Standard Time which is 3.30am Tuesday for those of us living in Australian Eastern Standard Time.

The album is scheduled to drop in September, however, no specific date has been set yet. Del Rey has called it “beautiful retro future record” and now we’ve heard High By The Beach that convoluted statement makes a little more sense.

Listen: Lana Del Rey – High By The Beach

High By The Beach Coming Monday 9.30am PST / 5.30pm BST Beats 1 @AppleMusic 11:30am PST / 7:30pm BST @BBCRadio1

A photo posted by Lana Del Rey (@lanadelrey) on


FOR MORE MUSIC NEWS CLICK HERE

Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address

Recommendations