Hear Kurt Cobain’s Lost Beatles Cover

Written by Emmy Mack on 12th October, 2015

Hear Kurt Cobain’s Lost Beatles Cover

Thanks to the release of definitive Kurt Cobain documentary Montage Of Heck, many of the late grunge legend’s unreleased recordings and lost demos have been unearthed from the vault. The latest is a raw, acoustic cover of the early Lennon-McCartney Beatles classic, And I Love Her.

The track will feature on an upcoming Kurt Cobain solo record of sorts, along with a collection of 30 other songs that have been plucked from Cobain’s personal archives, including the previously released raw early demo of Nirvana’s Sappy.

“These are all just Kurt by himself with the guitar,” Montage Of Heck director and album architect, Brett Morgen, explains. “These aren’t multi-track, finished songs or work-ups, but they’re extraordinary, and I think they provide a tremendous insight into his [creative] process. I think they further our understanding of Kurt, both as a musician and as a man.”

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings will be released on November 6th, to coincide with the official release of the Montage Of Heck film on DVD.

Check out the official track listing, along with Cobain’s haunting rendition of The Beatles’ And I Love Her, below.

Listen: Kurt Cobain – And I Love Her (The Beatles Cover)

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings Official Tracklist:

1. The Yodel Song
2. Been a Son (Early Demo)
3. What More Can I Say
4. 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial
5. The Happy Guitar
6. Montage of Kurt
7. Beans
8. Burn the Rain
9. Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)
10. Reverb Experiment
11. Montage of Kurt II
12. Rehash
13. You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
14. Scoff (Early Demo)
15. Aberdeen
16. Bright Smile
17. Underground Celebritism
18. Retreat
19. Desire
20. And I Love Her
21. Sea Monkeys
22. Sappy (Early Demo)
23. Letters to Frances
24. Scream
25. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)
26. Kurt Ambiance
27. She Only Lies
28. Kurt Audio Collage
29. Poison’s Gone
30. Rhesus Monkey
31. Do Re Mi (Medley)


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address