Foo Fighters Share New Album ‘Sonic Highways’ Details

Written by Tom Williams on 12th August, 2014

Foo Fighters Share New Album ‘Sonic Highways’ Details

Foo Fighters have shared some exciting information regarding their forthcoming eighth studio album, including the official title, tracklisting and artwork. The 8-song album, titled Sonic Highways, is set for worldwide release on 10th November, and is available to pre-order right now.

“This album is instantly recognizable as a Foo Fighters record, but there’s something deeper and more musical to it,” frontman Dave Grohl said in a statement (via Rolling Stone). “I think that these cities and these people influenced us to stretch out and explore new territory, without losing our ‘sound’.”

Foo Fighters have also shared a new video teaser (below), in which Grohl can be seen getting a tattoo of the phrase, “In the end, we all come from what’s come before”, alongside an infinity symbol, on his arm. A short snippet of new music, including that powerful 8-second scream (below) the band had previously unveiled, is also featured in the clip.

The vinyl edition of Sonic Highways comes with nine different album covers to choose from – one for each city in which the album was recorded (Chicago, Austin, Nashville, Los Angeles, Seattle, New Orleans, Washington, DC, and New York) – as well as one already leaked “forever” cover, which will accompany all CD and digital copies. To see all the vinyl cover art options, head through to the band’s official store. Foos have also shared the album’s official tracklisting, which readers can check out below.

Dave Grohl’s forthcoming documentary series, Foo Fighters: Sonic Highways, premieres on 17th October in the US. Despite sharing its name with Grohl’s upcoming music documentary, the next Foo Fighters album is not a soundtrack to the HBO series.

Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highways can be pre-ordered from the band’s official website, with album-themed merchandise such as shirts, flags and puzzles also available.

Watch: Foo Fighters’ Sonic Highways Tattoo Teaser Video

Watch: Foo Fighters – 8

Sonic Highways Tracklisting

1 – Something From Nothing
2 – The Feast and the Famine
3 – Congregation
4 – What Did I Do?/God as My Witness
5 – Outside
6 – In the Clear
7 – Subterranean
8 – I Am a River


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address