Faith No More Announce First Album In 18 Years, ‘Sol Invictus’

Written by Tom Williams on 11th February, 2015

Faith No More Announce First Album In 18 Years, ‘Sol Invictus’

Soundwave 2015 headliners Faith No More have announced the release of their first studio album in 18 years, titled Sol Invictus. The album will be released in May, and will act as the follow-up to 1997’s Album Of The Year.

Before Sol Invictus hits ears around the world, Faith No More are putting out a new single, Superhero, on seven inch vinyl on 17th March, with a digital release to follow on 31st March. The band famously debuted the song live as Superhero (Leader Of Men) in July 2014. Watch a live video below.

Sol Invictus was recorded in the band’s own studio in Oakland, California, and was produced by bassist Bill Gould. The long-player will be released via the band’s own imprint, Reclamation Records, on 15th May.

“Hypnotic and gothic, we’re coming back to where we were with our first album,” Gould says in a statement (via Rolling Stone). “Then Patton’s being Patton, crooning, screaming, with a bit of soul underneath it all. We’ve always taken strange influences and smashed them together.” He cites Siouxsie and the Banshees and Roxy Music as influences.

Faith No More’s recent Record Store Day Black Friday single Motherf**ker (below) will also appear on Sol Invictus. View the album’s full tracklist, below.

Listen: Faith No More – Motherf**ker

Watch: Faith No More – Superhero (Live In Hyde Park)

Sol Invictus Tracklist:
1. Sol Invictus
2. Superhero
3. Sunny Side Up
4. Separation Anxiety
5. Cone of Shame
6. Rise of the Fall
7. Black Friday
8. Motherf**ker
9. Matador
10. From the Dead


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address