Drum Tech Unmasks Slipknot’s New Band Members

Written by Tom Williams on 4th December, 2014

Drum Tech Unmasks Slipknot’s New Band Members

A drum technician appears to have leaked Slipknot‘s complete personnel list, possibly in retribution for losing his job, and revealed the identities of the band’s new drummer and bassist in the process.

Drum technician Norm Costa shared two revealing photos (below) via his Instagram account today. The first was a picture of a drum kit, with the caption, “#jayweinberg #slipknot #newdrummer #f**kslipknot.” The second was the clincher, though, consisting of the band’s personnel list, with the names of all band members. “#blowitup #f**kslipknot,” Costa added as the caption.

The list names the Iowa group’s new bassist is Alessandro “Vman” Venturella. Both Venturalla and Jay Weinberg, son of E Street Band drummer Max Weinberg, had previously been rumoured to have taken the positions in place of former drummer Joey Jordison and late bassist Paul Gray.

Costa was hired by Slipknot as a drum technician but, as Blabbermouth notes, he now claims he no longer works for them. A LinkedIn account under Costa’s name still identifies him as Slipknot’s drum technician at the time of writing. Costa has worked in the industry for over 20 years, and spent some time as drum tech for Dave Lombardo, Slayer’s former sticks man.

Rumours suggesting Weinberg could be Slipknot’s new drummer arose in the middle of the year, despite frontman Corey Taylor’s attempts to keep the new member’s identity “under wraps”.

Slipknot’s The Devil In I music video all but confirmed the identity of the band’s new bassist, thanks to a distinct hand tattoo worn by Venturella. Venturella has worked as a guitar technician for Mastodon, Fightstar, and Coheed & Cambria in the past, and he also plays in the band Krokodil.

Slipknot’s new lineup made its live debut at Knotfest in October. The band are set to headline Soundwave 2015 in February/March.


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address