Perth Festival 2014 Music Lineup Announced

Written by Greg Moskovitch on 8th November, 2013

Perth Festival 2014 Music Lineup Announced

Besides boasting Russian theatre, award-winning giants of literature, a multi-player video theatre and a life-size bouncy castle Stonehenge, the 2014 Perth International Arts Festival will also be bringing punters some of the finest musical acts touring today, including The National.

The organisers of the 62nd Perth Festival pride themselves on offering a diverse program of arts and music, catering what is a “quintessentially Western Australian experience” into what can appeal to the palettes of all music lovers, theatre aficionados, bookworms, and art admirers.

In 2014, the longest-running annual multi-arts celebration in the Southern Hemisphere will be celebrating its 62nd year in style with Brooklyn-based five-piece The National, who’ll be wowing Perth Festival audiences with their lush textures and ethereal sonics.

The eclectic selection of music, taking place over 24 nights, continues with a set by soul legend Booker T Jones, as he celebrates one of the most undisputedly classic discographies in rhythm & blues and indeed, in the pantheon of modern music.

The band that introduced a new, siren-like urgency into the realm of hip-hop, changing the game for all artists who came after, rap royalty Public Enemy, will likewise be trekking Down Under to introduce a new generation to one of the hardest, loudest, and rawest discographies in music.

Meanwhile indie fans are catered for with sets by Canadian six-piece Austra, the Austin-based Okkervil River, and Australia’s own The Basics, featuring Aus-pop royalty Wally De Backer, better known to the world as Gotye.

There’s also plenty more for soul and jazz fans, with performances by Charles Bradley and Roy Ayers, hip-hop heads with sets by DJ Shadow and DJ Food, as well as everything in between. Check below for the full Perth Festival 2014 contemporary music lineup.

Perth Festival 2014 Contemporary Music Lineup

Booker T Jones: Thursday, 6th February 2014

#Together feat. Ta-Ku: Saturday, 8th February 2014

The Basics: Sunday, 9th February 2014

Julia Holter: Monday, 10th February 2014

100 Million Nights: Tuesday, 11th February 2014

Ialaru: A Celebration: Wednesday, 12th February 2014

Ladi6 + Home Brew: Thursday, 13th February 2014

The National: Friday, 14th February 2014

Husky: Friday, 14th February 2014

DJ Shadow: Saturday, 15th February 2014

Ebony Bones: Sunday, 16th February 2014

Austra: Monday, 17th February 2014

DJ Food, DJ Cheeba & DJ Moneyshot: Tuesday, 18th February 2014

Okkervil River: Wednesday, 19th February 2014

Olafur Arnalds + Keaton Henson: Thursday, 20th February 2014

Daughn Gibson + Owl Eyes: Friday, 21st February 2014

Pond, AAA Aardvark Getdown Services, Felicity Groom, The Silents: Saturday, 22nd February 2014

Altan: Sunday, 23rd February 2014

Wire: Monday, 24th February 2014

Charles Bradley: Tuesday, 25th February 2014

Madeleine Peyroux: Wednesday, 26th February 2014

Robert Glasper Experiment feat. Roy Ayers: Thursday, 27th February 2014

Public Enemy: Friday, 28th February 2014

Mikhael Paskalev: Saturday, 1st March 2014


FOR MORE MUSIC NEWS CLICK HERE

Buy your Future Music Festival ticket with MasterPass and get a complimentary ticket on us.

Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address
Buy your Future Music Festival ticket with MasterPass and get a complimentary ticket on us.

Recommendations