Beck Signs To Capitol Records For New Album ‘Morning Phase’

Written by Greg Moskovitch on 21st January, 2014

Beck Signs To Capitol Records For New Album ‘Morning Phase’

It’s been announced that alternative legend Beck has signed to legendary label Capitol Records to release his first album of new material since 2008's critically-acclaimed Modern Guilt. Morning Phase is a companion piece to 2002's Sea Change and is set for release this February.

Morning Phase features many of the same collaborators who worked on Sea Change and who are currently accompanying Beck live, including Justin Meldal-Johnsen, Joey Waronker, Smokey Hormel, and Jason Falkner, and recalls the emotional resonance of Beck’s acclaimed 2002 LP.

Beck has been a creative force over the past 12 months, a tear that the artist kicked off with December 2012's unique Song Reader project, which famously featured sheet music for 20 new and original Beck songs, for fans and musicians to perform, interpret, and bring to life on their own.

More recently, Beck released three singles — Defriended, I Won’t Be Long, Gimme — online and on 12-inch vinyl to much acclaim, toured extensively, and collaborated with Doug Aitken on his Station to Station project. A complete tracklist and exact release date for Morning Phase are forthcoming.

Watch: Beck – Cutting Morning Phase


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address