Arcade Fire And James Murphy Play A Trick On Brooklyn Audience

Written by Greg Moskovitch on 22nd October, 2013

Arcade Fire And James Murphy Play A Trick On Brooklyn Audience

Montreal’s Arcade Fire played a gig at a Brooklyn artspace this weekend, where fans were treated to a set composed entirely of cuts from the band’s upcoming album, Reflektor, as well as some hijinks orchestrated by the band and their producer, LCD Soundsystem‘s James Murphy.

Speaking to the Wall Street Journal, venue curator Peter Hopkins said, “Live Nation told me they could have absolutely done this at Madison Square Garden, but they were looking for something that more reflected the demographic of the people who like the Arcade Fire.”

Fans arrived wearing mandatory formal wear for the first of two sold-out shows, where, after being let inside around 8PM, they were greeted by James Murphy, who bore an apology:

“There’s been a little snafu. We can only get three members right now. But it’s going to be OK. I’d like to introduce the Reflektors!”

Three figures clad in the Reflektor video papier-mâché masks then came on the sparsely adorned stage to play some reggae, before a curtain dropped on the other side of the room. Standing on an entirely separate stage was Arcade Fire in its entirety, launching into Reflektor.

“Sorry we played a trick on you,” said frontman Win Butler. “We just thought it was funny,” he explained to the partly bemused audience, some of whom had lined up for hours. After a ten-song set, the band left the stage with no plans for an encore.

Butler returned to the stage, explaining that there was definitely no encore and that a dance party would now take place. The crowd reacted with boos, to which the singer responded “If that’s a super bummer that we’re going to dance with you and party all night, then go home.”

Checkmate, Arcade Fire fans. Readers can check out videos from the performance and see the entire setlist below.

Watch: Arcade Fire Brooklyn Show – Opening Prank

Watch: Arcade Fire Brooklyn Show – Reflektor

Watch: Arcade Fire Brooklyn Show – Neighborhood #3

Arcade Fire Brooklyn Setlist

01. Reflektor
02. Flashbulb Eyes
03. We Exist
04. Normal Person
05. Joan Of Arc
06. It’s Never Over (Oh Orpheus)
07. Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)
08. Afterlife
09. Neighborhood #3 (Power Out)
10. Here Comes The Night Time II


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address