Aphex Twin Hits The Deep Web To Announce New Album ‘SYRO’

Written by Tom Williams on 19th August, 2014

Aphex Twin Hits The Deep Web To Announce New Album ‘SYRO’

Pioneering electronic musician Richard D. James, better known as Aphex Twin, has taken to the deep web to announce his new album SYRO, his first full-length release under the Aphex Twin name since 2001's Drukqs. The album was announced via Tor, the deep web browser which gives access to some of the internet’s most secretive spaces.

James sent fans into a frenzy by tweeting a URL (http://syro2eznzea2xbpi.onion) via his official Twitter account, which leads to a site which can only be accessed using the Tor browser. After following the link, Pitchfork have now confirmed that the above image and what appears to be a track list (below) were revealed alongside the album title.

Another site has also been set up for use by regular internet browsers, which contains everything except the album title and tracklist. The cryptic URL for that site is http://syro2eznzea2xbpi.com/.

Earlier this week, a green blimp embossed with the Aphex Twin logo and a stylised “2014? was spotted flying over London. The logo was also found stenciled onto walls outside the Radio City Music Hall in New York.

Earlier this year, a long lost 1994 album recorded by James under his Caustic Window moniker was unearthed and distributed thanks to a Kickstarter crowdfunding campaign.

SYRO Tracklist (via Fact Mag)

1. minipops 67 (source field mix)
2. XMAS_EVET10 (thanaton3 mix)
3. produk 29
4. 4 bit 9d api+e+6
5. 180db_
6. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
7. fz pseudotimestretch+e+3
8. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
9. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12. aisatsana


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address