Statues - Together We’re Alone

Statues - Together We’re Alone

Written by Brenton Harris on 5th January, 2015

Since their inception in 2009, chaotic hardcore quintet Statues have forged a reputation as one of the nation’s finest and most ferocious hardcore bands. A passionate and engaging live outfit, the Perth natives have built their profile the old-fashioned way — taking to stages across the country, leaving no mosh pit undisturbed and acquiring a rabid fan base along the way. If their debut full-length Together We’re Alone is received the way it deserves to be, then those shows are about to get very crowded indeed.

A crushingly heavy yet melodic record which wears its social message unapologetically upfront, Together We’re Alone wastes no time making its presence felt. We’re thrust headfirst into a world of organised mayhem with incendiary opener All Fears Are Learned, All Victories Are Earned, and our ears are held captive till the final desperate moments of closer Within Arms Reach.

The twin guitar attack meshes with the bombast of the rhythm section (drummer Dan is a beast), providing the perfect foundation for Jayme Van Keulen’s raw-throated howl as he delivers the band’s deep ruminations on modern life. Lead single Oh Precious Commodity and the surprisingly subdued yet no-less-powerful I Want Peace are highlights amongst 12 absolute bangers.

Together We’re Alone is a remarkable debut record which should establish Statues as one of Australia’s most unique and promising new heavy acts. See you in the pit.

Watch: Statues – Oh Precious Commodity


Sell tickets with moshtix!

Subscribe to the weekly moshguide!

  • Please enter a valid email address